Ecos Motors Harbinger - 1

 

picture

Album details

Capture Date: Nov. 3, 2009
City: Las Vegas (NV)
Event: 2009 SEMA Show
Ecos Motors Harbinger prototype electric sports car. Hand crafted and assembled in the USA with an 11" series wound DC Motor, 30kwh LifeP04 prismatic cell battery pack (lithium ion), 4 speed manual transmission, 4 wheel hydraulic disc brakes, 17 inch alloy wheels, 3 year/30,000mile warranty, PC based control system with small footprint and minimal electric draw, touchscreen controls for almost all vehicle systems (based on standard MiMod configuration and options), real-time monitoring of all battery functions, states and reports and completely customizable control and monitoring of all systems. 0-60mph in less than 6 seconds, top speed in excess of 100mph and range of 150+ miles. Limited production begins in February 2010.


7 comments about Ecos Motors Harbinger

avatar Brisco 2:30pm Wednesday November 04, 2009
 
Wtff...whats the price on one of these?
 
avatar Brisco 2:31pm Wednesday November 04, 2009
 
nvm, just saw the price on one of the photos. $89k!!
 
avatar Vinay 11:47am Thursday November 05, 2009
 
Hmmm... not sure what I think of this car. Harbinger's a dumb name, the flat seats don't look ideal, and too much Lambo influence in the styling. And very bad wheel choice. But I do like the touchscreen PC controls, and this is the first electric car I can recall that has a manual transmission. I like that.. but why only 4 speed. How are they going to sell even one of these cars though, when for only 20 grand more you can get a TESLA, which is a much more established company, a more evolved car, and it does 0-60 in 3.5 seconds!!!!! And looks good. This company cannot last :-) Good Effort though.
 
avatar ZackMan 11:07pm Thursday November 05, 2009
 
I sat in the car today at SEMA and talked to the guys at ECOS, they seem pretty cool. I was thinking the same thing about the seats but they are actually very comfortable and weigh only 8 pounds each! They said the car is available with just about any wheel you want and they also offer a 5- or 6- speed gearbox. They are only planning on making about 20 of them next year, though :(
 
avatar Vinay 11:14am Friday November 06, 2009
 
Very interesting, ZackMan.
 
avatar ZackMan 8:07pm Friday November 06, 2009
 
yeah I hope they are legit.
 
avatar nichole73 1:12pm Tuesday November 10, 2009
 
Yes, EcosMotors is legit. Check out their website at www.ecosmotors.com
 
Some HTML is allowed. Your comments remain editable after you post.